The 23rd International
Annual Congress of the
World Muscle Society

Fellowships and Prizes

Every year the WMS Education fund awards in excess of 50 fellowships, funded by an annual royalty from Neuromuscular Disorders by Elsevier. For the WMS 2018 Congress WMS may support up to 100 fellowships awarded to help attendees with their travel and accommodation costs.


The Programme Committee selects the recipients based on the quality of the abstracts submitted and the analysis of a brief submitted CV (including the special interest and expertise, details of current position and the importance of the work to be presented).

Applicants should be in training and not yet in a definite established position. The maximum age for applicants is 40 years old. Those who wish to be considered for fellowships should indicate so and provide the necessary information as requested at the time of abstract submission on the online abstract submission page.


Two (or more) additional annual fellowships will be provided from the President's Fund for senior myologists who have been active in WMS in the past but are now retired and have constraints on their available funds. Applicants should provide a short review (up to 250 words) of their activities in the neuromuscular field and their contributions to the WMS.

Applications should be submitted online no later than midnight 9th April 2018 (GMT).

The application should be made online together with the abstract submission.


All prizes are decided by an international, multidisciplinary team of judges.

  • Six Elsevier Prizes for the best oral or poster presentations by young scientists (clinical or basic).
  • A series of 20 additional Elsevier Awards of one year's membership subscription to the WMS for the runners-up Prizes.
  • The President's Prize for the Young Myologist of the Year, funded from the President's Fund from proceeds of Honorary Lifetime President Victor Dubowitz’s memoirs (Ramblings of a Peripatetic Paediatrician).
  • Additional President's Prize for the best presentation by a young first-time presenter. Those who wish to be a candidate for this award should indicate that you are a first-time presenter on the online abstract submission page.
  • Léa Rose Prize: This annual award is for the presenter of the most important contribution in SMA research at the WMS Congress.
  • Duchenne Research Fund: Prize for the best presentation by a young myologist on therapy for Duchenne muscular dystrophy.

Copyright © WMS Congress Ltd

For further information please contact the Congress Secretariat:
MCI ARGENTINA Av. Córdoba 883, Piso 11 Ciudad de Buenos Aires, Argentina Mobile: +54 9 351 539 9631